National quality regimes and industry standards

Denmark, Finland, Norway and Sweden

The Nordic countries – Denmark, Finland, Norway and Sweden – have since the 1960’s had a cooperation concerning wood preservation. The Nordic Wood Preservation Council’s classification, approval, and third party control scheme is guided by three main Documents. You can get more information and download the Documents from


The three systems in Switzerland operate under “Lignum Gutezeichen”:
Poles only: Empa (Lignum-Gutezeichen ).
Other vacuum-pressure treated timber: (Lignum-Gutezeichen ).
Timber cladding: (Gutezeichen fur Fassadenschalungen in Holz), including surface treatment.
You can find more info by Lignum:

Link (German and French)

United Kingdom

In the UK the Wood Protection Organisation (WPA) is a technical and advisory organisation specialising in the development and promotion of wood protection technology. The WPA acts as a principal technical advisor to the British Standards Institution in setting British standards relating to wood preservation, wood modification and fire protection.

The WPA operates the WPA Benchmark quality assurance and product approval scheme to help build buyer confidence in treated wood performance. For more information, please go to


The German quality scheme is operated by RAL quality assurance association (RAL-Gutegemeinschaft impragnierte Holzbauelemente c.V.)



The dutch quality scheme is KOMO. It’s an accredited scheme and SKH is the Certifying Body. Part of the requirements is the declaration of appropriateness of the preservative meaning that on top of the legal approval by the Competant Authority a judgement is made on the effectiveness of the preservative.


KOMO (KOMO is a well-recognized quality mark in the building sector, but even in the DIY sector it is used.)
SKH(In the timber sector the most recognised CB.)
The requirements for certification of treated timber: Link
Requirements for preservatives:
Requirements for modified timber: Link
The competent authority: Link